Jbl S120pii Subwoofer Question

Discussion in 'Speakers & Subwoofers' started by RobTauber, Apr 14, 2004.

1. RobTauber

RobTauber Agent

I am relatively new to this hobby, but I feel I have a good system, and just want to tweak it for best performance. RECEIVER-Onkyo TX-DS989, DVD- Pioneer DV43, Front Speakers-Energy C-9, L/R Surround- Energy CR-3, Surround Back-Energy Encore2, Center- PSB Century 2000i, Sub-JBL S120PII. I am running two cables to my sub from the sub outs on the amp, and would like to know if that helps or hurts. Can I use my Sub amp a a power amp or pre amp?

2. Mike SJ

Mike SJ Supporting Actor

please explain HOW you are running 2 cables to your amp.

is your subs amp ON the sub box?
    what is your reasoning for asking "Can I use my Sub amp a a power amp or pre amp?" HOW did you WANT to use it?
    its an AMP therefore it can be used as an AMP.

3. RobTauber

RobTauber Agent

Sent PM, not sure if received. Can answer questions, hopefully you can help. Thanks.

4. Mike SJ

Mike SJ Supporting Actor

first off - isnt your Onkyo receiver a 7.1 THX EX? wont it have amps for all your speakers but sub?

your subs amp is one channel therefore you can run one speaker - your sub.

according to what I read on the specs for your sub, you can just send one sub out [from onkyo] to sub line in [jbl sub]
    instead of the 2 cables to left in AND right in. just cause you have 2 sub outs doesnt mean its in stereo.

also, may I ask why you wanted an extra amp for your surrounds? is it cause they arent loud enough?
    what is about your system that you do not currently enjoy?

5. RobTauber

RobTauber Agent

Mike SJ

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Local Date and Time:
    April 14th, 2004
    08:44 PM
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yes, it is 7.1.