JBL NSP1 vs. Energy Take 5

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Dave Weisbord, Oct 1, 2001.

1. Dave Weisbord

Dave Weisbord Auditioning

I am a newbie at this Home Theater business. The cash is there, but the wife might flip if I spent too much of it. So, I've heard good things on this forum and elsewhere about the JBL NSP1 system, and have seen it for about $290. In addition, a local store has an "open box" (meaning a demo set) of last years Energy Take Fives for $299.
    Both sets of speakers sound good to me, but in a store setting - who can tell?
    Any opinions?
    Dave

2. James_C

James_C Agent

I too am fairly new. I live in a townhouse so space is an issue with me. I started looking at all of the small sub/sat systems out there. I had previously narrowed it down to the Paradigm Atoms and the Energy 5.2 system. I haven't herd the Energy 5 system but from what I read the 5.2 has many great upgrades. While I was trying to decide, I stumbled upon the Definitive Technology ProCinema 100 system at a store. These are awsome!!! If you are going to be watching action movies with big bass, take a look at this system. The sub will beat any sub/sat system. It is a little more expensive but I think it is well worth the extra price! I will be getting the system within the next couple of weeks...

3. Phil Iturralde

Phil Iturralde Screenwriter

I choose the JBL NSP1's back in April 2000 after reading 1997 Stereo Review article "Baby Grands" by Corey Greenberg (pg. 80) quote: . . .I have to point out that the Energy system doesn't sound much like a movie theater, . . .[/quote] (I have the magazine) This was a very BIG ISSUE for me, why setup an HT System if it can't sound SPL wise, like your local Cinema Theater?? (for LFE/Sub, I have the AudioSource SW15)
    And then after doing some Yahoo searching, I found these two reviews:
    1) http://www.audiorevolution.com/equip/energytake5/index.html