JBL N26 with N-center..My Frequency test...

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Richard_s, Apr 9, 2002.

1. Richard_s

Richard_s Second Unit

Now that my headache is gone I can share my test. I am not an expert so remember this is from an amateur but I felt worth sharing.
    The test was run as follows:
    Tripod mounted Realistic (model 33-2050) sound level meter (note that from 20hz to 3khz the meter is flat from 3Khz to 9Khz this meter reads on average about +3db and rolls off very steep at 10Khz on up).
    Wavetech precision signal generator.
    Tested the speakers with the meter approximately 2 feet away from the face of the speaker and put the meter on centerline of the tweeter when testing both the N26 and the N-center.
    My Pioneer amplifier using the left channel. Volume set at the position on the dial where I get 80db using avia. I then adjusted the amplification of the wavetech so that the sound level meter read "0" set on 80db range at 800Hz and the "C" weighting was used.
    What I was trying to do is see how flat the response is for the N26 and the N-center. Also I was looking for peaks in the 1khz to 8Khz range which might account for ther sibilance that I have posted about but did not know if it was the speakers or the source (TV, CD, DVD).
    Results (corrected for the characteristics of the sound level meter):
    N26 well what can I say except outstanding. It was -3db at 65hz and again -3db at approx 20kHz. From 70hz to 18Khz the speaker varies no more than +/-2db. A slight peak of +3db from 7kHz to 7.5Khz . The crossover is at 3kHz and there was no noticible imperfection there or around this frequency.
    N-center well not as good this speaker is a bit "brighter" than the N26. This "brightness" is in the 4khz to 10Khz (above that I can not tell since the sound level meter rolls off too fast). Here is what I got (corrected for meter response)
    70Hz -3db
    75hz to 4.6Khz +/-2db
    4.7Khz +2db
    5.5Khz +2db