JBL E80 - why are there two sets of wire jacks?

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Taggraptor, Jul 27, 2006.

1. Taggraptor

Taggraptor Auditioning

Hi all, I am somewhat new to speaker wiring and I have a set of JBL Northridge E80 floorstanders. I noticed when I bought them that they have two sets of wire jacks, two positives and two negatives. I realize this is a really rookie question, but does this mean that to get the speaker's full potential I need to jumper them or run a parallel wire to both +'s and both -'s? Is the E80 a DVC speaker, or does it just have a separate power source for the high tweeters and the mid/low speakers? I've been only hooking up one of the power sets, and i'm wondering if i've been only using half of my E80. Anyone have any advice about this?

Taggart

2. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Wayne
    Welcome to the Forum, Taggart!

Those wire jacks are called “binding posts” – thought you might like to know that. [​IMG] You don’t need to jump between them; there is probably already a metal strap that connects the two red and black posts. If so, just run a single speaker wire, like you’re used to doing. Don’t worry, if you were using “only half” of your E80s, you’d know it. Either it would sound all thin and “tinny” (that would be only the tweeter operating) or it would sound muffled (only the woofer operating).

The reason for the two binding posts is to enable a couple of optional connection schemes called “bi-amping” or “bi-wiring.” If you remove the straps between the posts, then indeed only half the speaker operates, and you have to run separate wires to each pair of binding posts. If both wires are connected to the same amp, it’s “bi-wiring.” If the wires are fed to two separate amps, it’s called “bi-amping.”

Some of the more experienced audiophiles claim to hear improvements with bi-wiring or –amping. Others say they can’t tell any difference. For us regular Joes, a single wire works just fine. [​IMG]

Regards,