JBL E20 3 pairs for a small room.......

Discussion in 'Speakers & Subwoofers' started by darek, Jan 27, 2006.

1. darek

darek Auditioning

I currently own the Athena Point 5 system which I love the sound of but their appearance is slowly giving me upgrade-itis. I'm considering replacing them with 3 pairs JBL E20 bookshelf speakers. The room is small, aprox 12x12 and I already have a good subwoofer. Due to size constraints my choices are limited. Do you think this is a good upgrade?

2. John S

John S Producer

E30's would be much better. Probably to big though huh?

Let us know how you like the E20's if you follow through with this. I have a lot of experience with E30's.

3. darek

darek Auditioning

Yeah, unfortunately the E30's are too big. I live in an apartment in Williamsburg, Brooklyn so space is always a consideration. How would you rate the JBL's tweeter? One of the things that makes the Athenas so great is their high frequency response. I just ordered a pair of E20's so I'll find out soon enough but I like hearing other peoples thoughts. Thanks.

4. John S

John S Producer

Better than the Athena's, but still not excellent in all honesty. I know this is why they added the super tweets on their new Studio line.

Combine this with most living rooms naturally rolling off of 16KHZ and higher you still may have this impression, a speaker would have to sort of unaturally have a bit of a boost up there to overcome a typical living room roll off.

Hard to say how critical of a listener you are. The E20's I am sure do really well up top in a chamber.

Just know some of your Athena high end lacking is from your room.

5. LanceJ

LanceJ Producer

Most adult males' hearing drops off past 12kHz.

This is why FM radio-which goes from 30Hz to 15kHz-can sound nearly identical to a CD or LP (as long as the broadcaster & end user both use good gear and settings).