What's new

Jaton PSD-7611K Owners (1 Viewer)

Dave Stone

Auditioning
I've been using my new Jaton region free dvd player for a few weeks now and i've noticed alot of jittering or jumpiness when I play any of my PAL dvd's on my NTSC television. In other words the picture is not steady.
Is there a setting I can change to make the picture more stable??

I tried changing the Vertical Interpolation from "adaptive" to "frame" and the jitter went away but then I started noticing slight combing during scenes where alot of movement or action was going on and constant combing
during playback of extras on the pal dvd's .

Is this a problem with all Jaton dvd players or do I have a defective unit??

Bryan_Sth

Agent
Dave,
That's the player I've been using and I haven't noticed that problem. Other than long pauses on layer switches, I've been pretty happy with it. You might try contacting them and see what they say. I've heard they're pretty good to deal with, but I have no personal experience to base that on.

Dave Stone

Auditioning
I e-mailed HKFlix and they were very quick in responding. It seems that because i'm using the player in interlaced mode the jitter is common. I don't have a HDTV yet...

Below is what I received from HKFlix:

Use your player in progressive scan mode with a progressive scan compatible TV. It's that last step of going to NTSC interlaced that introduces shimmering, so naturally using the progressive scan output instead of interlaced is the way to eliminate the problem. Using progressive scan will eliminate about 99% of shimmering.

Mark_Wilson

Screenwriter