What's new

James Cameron to direct Battle Angel Alita (1 Viewer)

oscar_merkx

Senior HTF Member
"Titanic" and "Terminator 2: Judgment Day" director James Cameron has confirmed to NPR that he will next helm the big screen adaptation of Yukito Kishiro's anime comic Battle Angel Alita.

"We're in pre-production right now on a project called 'Battle Angel' which is something I've been working on for several years and we're just, we're finishing up the shooting draft right now. We've been designing, it's a big science fiction film and a couple things that will be interesting about this project," he says in the interview.

Cameron added that "the main character, even though it's a live action film, the main character will be done with CG animation and the second thing that's interesting is we're going to be shooting it in 3D using the stereo imagining system that we've been developing for the documentaries."

You can learn more about the character at Kishiro's official website http://jajatom.moo.jp/E-top/Egunnm/Egunnm%20top.html

This sounds like fun

Steve Phillips

Screenwriter
I think Cameron will use his cameras to shoot everything in 3-D from now on; whether it gets a wide release in that format or not.

Worst case, it will likely follow the release pattern now being used for POLAR EXPRESS, in which the IMAX 3-D version runs in 100 or so certified theatres, while the wide release is flat.

This could change if Cameron can help get more screens ready for quality 3-D projection in time; and a lot of work is already going on to make that much easier and cheaper to do than it was in the past.

While more and more theatres are being set up for IMAX 3-D, I doubt that the number will approach anything close to enough to make a wide release possible anytime soon.