What's new

I've been using the same light bulb for 10+ years (1 Viewer)

Steve Enemark

Second Unit
Is this normal? I've had a small desklamp on my nightstand that I use every night for 30-60 minutes as I read in bed. I've used the lamp since I left home for college in 1990.
The lamp used to belong to my sister, who used it when she went to college in the mid-eighties. I don't know if she ever replaced the bulb, but I'll be sure to ask her next chance I get.
Over ten years later, the little bulb still hasn't burned out! What's going on here?
PS: my sister taped a newspaper headline onto the lamp before I got it, saying "'Beer Drinkers Are Healthier Than Anybody', Study Says".
laugh.gif

------------------
"Always make the audience suffer as much as possible" - Alfred Hitchcock

Bill Cowmeadow

Second Unit
We have a 'Sharp Carousel' microwave that is 19 years old. Knock on wood, Its working as well as the day I bought it - and it still has the same light bulb too. My wife says that the day it quits, we will immediately go and get another.
Bill

SteveGon

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Steve Gonzales
That's nothing! I haven't had to change my underwear for the last twenty years!
biggrin.gif

------------------
My top ten movies that need to be on dvd:
1. Akira Kurosawa's Dreams 2. Freaks 3. Men With Guns 4. The Ninth Configuration 5. The Reflecting Skin 6. Santa Sangre 7. Treasure of the Sierra Madre 8. Voyager 9. White Heat 10. Wings of Desire

Jay H

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jay
SteveGon, now that you mentioned that online, go buy a new pair NOW, and if you're anywhere near SteveGon, I suggest you vacate the area immediately. :)
Jay

Kevin P

Screenwriter
Some bulbs last longer than others. Usually the bulb that burns out first is (a) difficult to reach, (b) hard to find a replacement for, or (c) inconvenient, such as being the only light you can reach for when you enter the room in the dark. :)