What's new

ISF Technicians and Calibrations (1 Viewer)

Randy Tomlinson

Auditioning
Somehow I stumbled across the thread (from last spring) about the "incompetent" ISF tech that was "outdone" by Michael. There were some interesting comments and viewpoints in that thread.
As an ISF technician, I just wanted to comment on the attitude I sometimes saw which basically said "anybody can do the standard ISF stuff except for color temp." Well, that's the whole key. Setting color temp requires some very expensive equipment that most people would find beyond their budget for home use. A few years ago, the Phillips color analyzer cost $10,000. The Photoresearch still costs over $10,000. Sencore sells theirs for about $3000 but you'll have to buy a laptop to use it. Some of these are not accurate from day one and others (like the Phillips) need regular recalibration. (I happen to know someone with a Photoresearch so I'm able to keep mine calibrated with that.) Add the cost of ISF training and travel/lodging to get it and you end up with quite a high price tag that will take a long time to recoup.
When TV's were simple, the standard ISF fee was probably about right considering the cost outlay of doing it, but with HD, TV's have become MUCH more complex and (to make matters worse) change every 12 months or less. Often the tech will spend hours on a job figuring out what this or that manufacturer did in this model (which will change in a few months). Sometimes there are obstacles that the tech can't overcome due to lack of available information. I ran into this on a Panasonic TAU set and one of Panasonic's top technical people couldn't get the answer for me. Even if SOMEONE has the answers, you'll often end up making repeat trips (at no additional cost) for problem sets to try them. Believe me, it's often hard to make any money at this. (fortuntely, it's not my primary job)