What's new

Is Yamaha any good? (1 Viewer)

Scott_AH

Stunt Coordinator
I'm new to the this forum and only have a couple years of personal home theater experience. I was just wondering why Yamaha is hardly ever mentioned as a contender when someone asks for a recommendation? I own a Yamaha 5560 and it seems to do a great job for me. Did I make a bad choice? Could I get more bang for my buck? Would it have been a better idea to get the 5490 or should a steer clear of Yamaha completely in the future?

My girlfriend puts very large limitations on my A/V budget so I can't go for too much more... Thanks for any advice!

Scott in Spokane

RobertSchaez

Stunt Coordinator
Hi Scott,
First, I've got to give you a hard time for not reading down too far on this page. There is a post on the "musicality" of Yamaha. There are plenty of debates that have, and will continue, to go on, comparing Yamaha to Denon, Marantz, Onkyo, HK, etc. Stay tuned, I'm sure you will get things going again.

As far as making a good decision? Couldn't tell you. Some people will say no, others yes. I happen to have a RX-V3000 that I very happy with for HT, music I'm not sure yet. I have to get some real speakers first! Anyway, the bottom line is how do you like it? Did you listen to any other brands (using the same speakers) for comparison?

If there is one thing I can definitely say for Yamaha, it's that they are are built very well. Look at all the various posts here and on other forums about HK cutting out, or Denons overheating, or misc. quality issues with certain Marantz. You will rarely see those issues with Yamaha.

My two cents is that you have a nice piece of equipment, so enjoy it. Don't let the lack of posts praising Yamaha make you think you made the wrong decision.

BTW, what percent of music/HT do you listen to? What kind of speakers are you using?
R

Brian OK

Supporting Actor
Scott,

No offense, but the search function works quite well on this forum.