Is this plenty of power from an AMP

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Kevin. W, Nov 13, 2001.

  1. Kevin. W

    Kevin. W Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 1999
    Messages:
    1,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You read about the specs for AMPS and sometimes the manufacturer doesn't advertise specifics except for their upper end models. Currently I own a Rotel RMB-1066(6x60..3x150) for which I e-mailed Rotel to get the inside scope of its insides.
    1. Size of Torroidal transformer: .7KVA(700VA)
    2. Capacitors and type: 40,800 uf electrostatic
    3. Output devices: 6 bipolar channel, 12A per channel
    ANyone think this isn't enough power, storage capacity for intense scenes?
    Kevin
     
  2. Steve Daniels

    Steve Daniels Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 14, 2001
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Without knowing the speakers your using, the room size, and how loud you listen to movies, I really can't speculate.
    OK, I'll speculate: Yes, it's enough, especially if you have a decent sub, a smallish room, efficient speakers, or some combination of all three.
     
  3. Kevin. W

    Kevin. W Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 1999
    Messages:
    1,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Steve. My room is the basement which is 24ft by 12ft, though the setup is located at one end in a 10 x10 section. My speakers are Paradigm Mini Monitors/CC350/PS100 with a sensitivity of 89db.
    Kevin
     
  4. John Kotches

    John Kotches Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,635
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Kevin,
    In my opinion, not enough power to handle reference levels at the seating position without clipping.
    Regards,
    ------------------
    John Kotches
    Contributing Writer
    Secrets of Home Theater and High Fidelity
     

Share This Page