What's new

Is this a good system? (1 Viewer)

Cyn

Auditioning
Okay. I went to the Home Theater place here and this is what they requested to me and being a novice, everything sounds great but I really liked the sound of this system.

Definitive BP-200GTL Front left and right $1079.00 pair
Definitive CLR2300 Center $530.00
Definitive BP-2X Rear left and right $449.00 pair
Definitive Procenter 100 Center rear $179.00

Receiver Denon AVR-1803 $449.00

What do you guys think? Is this a good set-up? Is it easy for a complete, total novice (and my husband is electronically challenged) so I would have to do it myself :} to hook up and learn how to use all those remote controls etc.

Also when they prewire for my components, what kind of wire should I use? Someone mentioned 12 gauge. Is it necessary? What would the difference be? Is there a big difference in cost? Is it worth the difference in cost?

Thanks again for all your help.
Mahalo (thanks),
Cyn

Cyn

Auditioning
I also wanted to know between these three speaker companies, which one is better? Definitive, Polk, Energy.

Thanks again,
Cyn

Tom Moran

Agent
First off I don't really think that better or worse comparisons apply to speakers as sound is a really subjective thing and each persons hearing and tastes are different as well. All three of the brands you mention are high quality components.

If both you and your husband like the way a set of speakers sound you are on the right track. I've been auditioning these three brands of speakers and a few more over the last few months for my first home theater and have been a pretty critical music listener for many years. I have to say that to my ears the Definitive speakers your shop has recommended sound better than any others I have heard mainly because they have such a rich and enveloping sound and great stereo separation. For home theater they are a great choice.