Is there such thing as an analog audio switch box for Ext. In?

John Besse

Supporting Actor
Joined
Jun 22, 2000
Messages
570
Location
Trinity, FL
Real Name
John
Ok, so I made the jump to HD DVD a few weeks ago and am going nuts with using TOS Link vs. the 5.1 analog audio outputs on the HD-A1. I listen to a fair amount of DVD-A and hate having to switch the plugs between two players to make use of the 5.1 analog out on the HD-DVD player. Is there such thing as a switch box for analog 5.1 so I can run my HD-DVD player and my SD DVD player with DVD-A and switch back and forth using just a button?
 

JeremyErwin

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2001
Messages
3,218
One set of multichannel inputs is pretty standard. Must be that back panel space is at a premium.

I'm in the same boat-- I have a SACD changer and an Oppo 971.
 

FeisalK

Screenwriter
Joined
May 1, 2003
Messages
1,245
tsk, tsk doesn't anyone have HDMI


Zektor used to have a dedicated m/c audio switch but its been discontinued in favour of the (less expensive) HDS4.1
 

Geoff Gunnell

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
May 20, 2006
Messages
58
Is this the kind of thing you are looking for?

http://www.ramelectronics.net/html/c...-sw.html#yprpb

EDIT: NO -- what is wrong with my mind -- you don't need component video switching -- sorry, never mind...

REEDIT: Maybe! Check the table at the bottom of this page:
http://www.ramelectronics.net/html/c...-sw.html#multi
as they say you can use video circuits to switch audio...

REREEDIT: How about this one?
http://www.ramelectronics.net/html/zektor.htm#hds4

AARGH! Same thing FeisalK found above!
 

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Jun 24, 1999
Messages
11,571
Location
NorCal
Real Name
John
I don't see what the problem is? Just run the HD-A1 via digital and leave the DVD-A player on the m/c input.

Component video switchers can be used to switch audio also.
 

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Jun 24, 1999
Messages
11,571
Location
NorCal
Real Name
John

What extra resistors? Analog cables are nearly always manufactured with 75 Ohm coax and it works fine. Should not be a problem at all. I've seen it done for people who have separate DVD-A and SACD players.
 

Phil A

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2000
Messages
3,224
Location
Central FL
Real Name
Phil
Besides the Zektor switch noted above, Sony made the multichannel preamp, the TA-P9000ES, at one point. Both are pricey. I had the TA-P9000ES and sold it last fall. I used it to switch between multi-channel SACD and DVD-A.

Using analog is the only way to get True HD if there is no HDMI.

http://www.dolbylabs.com/consumer/te...HD_avrs_1.html

Using analog though, unless the rec'r has bass management on the multi-channel input, you are stuck with the bass management in the player. I would think it would be better using an HDMI connection as all the bass management would be done in the digital domain, w/o conversion, and sent to the digital input of the rec'r.
 

Forum Sponsors

Forum statistics

Threads
344,858
Messages
4,722,433
Members
141,345
Latest member
els