Is there such thing as an analog audio switch box for Ext. In?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by John Besse, Sep 13, 2006.

  1. John Besse

    John Besse Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2000
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Trinity, FL
    Real Name:
    John
    Ok, so I made the jump to HD DVD a few weeks ago and am going nuts with using TOS Link vs. the 5.1 analog audio outputs on the HD-A1. I listen to a fair amount of DVD-A and hate having to switch the plugs between two players to make use of the 5.1 analog out on the HD-DVD player. Is there such thing as a switch box for analog 5.1 so I can run my HD-DVD player and my SD DVD player with DVD-A and switch back and forth using just a button?
     
  2. Geoff Gunnell

    Geoff Gunnell Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What do you not have on your pre/pre that you need, a second set of multichannel inputs?
     
  3. JeremyErwin

    JeremyErwin Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    One set of multichannel inputs is pretty standard. Must be that back panel space is at a premium.

    I'm in the same boat-- I have a SACD changer and an Oppo 971.
     
  4. FeisalK

    FeisalK Screenwriter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    tsk, tsk doesn't anyone have HDMI [​IMG]

    Zektor used to have a dedicated m/c audio switch but its been discontinued in favour of the (less expensive) HDS4.1
     
  5. Geoff Gunnell

    Geoff Gunnell Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is this the kind of thing you are looking for?

    http://www.ramelectronics.net/html/c...-sw.html#yprpb

    EDIT: NO -- what is wrong with my mind -- you don't need component video switching -- sorry, never mind...

    REEDIT: Maybe! Check the table at the bottom of this page:
    http://www.ramelectronics.net/html/c...-sw.html#multi
    as they say you can use video circuits to switch audio...

    REREEDIT: How about this one?
    http://www.ramelectronics.net/html/zektor.htm#hds4

    AARGH! Same thing FeisalK found above!
     
  6. FeisalK

    FeisalK Screenwriter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hehe. I guess it means that there aren't many choices [​IMG]
     
  7. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    I don't see what the problem is? Just run the HD-A1 via digital and leave the DVD-A player on the m/c input.

    Component video switchers can be used to switch audio also.
     
  8. JeremyErwin

    JeremyErwin Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Don't the extra resistors (for 75 ohm) distort the sound?
     
  9. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John

    What extra resistors? Analog cables are nearly always manufactured with 75 Ohm coax and it works fine. Should not be a problem at all. I've seen it done for people who have separate DVD-A and SACD players.
     
  10. JeremyErwin

    JeremyErwin Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
  11. Phil A

    Phil A Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2000
    Messages:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    1,610
    Location:
    Central FL
    Real Name:
    Phil
    Besides the Zektor switch noted above, Sony made the multichannel preamp, the TA-P9000ES, at one point. Both are pricey. I had the TA-P9000ES and sold it last fall. I used it to switch between multi-channel SACD and DVD-A.

    Using analog is the only way to get True HD if there is no HDMI.

    http://www.dolbylabs.com/consumer/te...HD_avrs_1.html

    Using analog though, unless the rec'r has bass management on the multi-channel input, you are stuck with the bass management in the player. I would think it would be better using an HDMI connection as all the bass management would be done in the digital domain, w/o conversion, and sent to the digital input of the rec'r.
     

Share This Page