Is there such a thing as a optical cable "hub"?

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by Richard_T, Oct 24, 2004.

  1. Richard_T

    Richard_T Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 5, 2000
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recently bought an X-Box to go with my PS2 and now I have a problem. My processor only has one optical connection and I have two systems I want to run to it. Is there such a thing as an optical cable hub where I could run two cables to it and connect to my single connection on my processor? Sort of like a USB hub on a computer. Has anyone heard of one of these things?[​IMG]
     
  2. Chu Gai

    Chu Gai Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    7,270
    Likes Received:
    1
  3. Bob McElfresh

    Bob McElfresh Producer

    Joined:
    May 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Radio Shack also carries a optical selector switch. They also carry a converter to turn optical into coaxial-digital if you happen to have spare coaxial-digital inputs.
     
  4. Richard_T

    Richard_T Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 5, 2000
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will either of these auto select meaning I don't have to manually select which console I'm using or do I have to do that every time? Thanks for the link too guys! Will there be any loss in sound quality by using one of these?
     
  5. Chu Gai

    Chu Gai Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    7,270
    Likes Received:
    1
    I wouldn't worry about the sound quality being affected. As far as auto select, I take it you mean you would prefer a device that senses which input is active and switches automatically. The one I provided a link to is a passive device and you'd have to spend more than the $30 that one is. For example, for about $90 you can get this: http://www.audiocubes.com/product_in...roducts_id=300
    Why not consider poking around in some of the gaming forums on the web to find out what they're using?
     
  6. Roy Brooks

    Roy Brooks Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have seen a manual select optical hub for sale in the surplus section of the local Princess Auto store (whitby). I think it was under 20 cdn. You could order them from princessauto.com if you are not close to one. As for auto detecting since we are talking optical here I use a y cable for photo eyes at work should do the same thing. The photoeyes are made by banner, the why cable basically just splits the signal same a an rca y cable would.
     
  7. SimiA

    SimiA Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use this set up. You can purchase it here for $39.
    http://www.inday.com/?KeohiHDTV
    TLDA1 Toslink 4-Output Optical Distribution Amplifier/Repeater for Digital Audio
    Vb
     

Share This Page