What's new

Is there good Rap? (1 Viewer)

Peter Kim

Screenwriter
First off, I'm not an expert in the field of rap music. But as pop culture seems to be more permeated with what was once a fringe music genre and now has crossed over as mainstream culture, I cannot escape incessant references, direct or otherwise.

Subsequently, rather than stick my head in a hole, I'd like to make a genuine attempt to understand its appeal or debunk the myth. Presently, from what I've seen, rap has transmogrified from a niche sound to a cultural phenomenon that wraps itself around a core of materialism, misogyny, violence, and ignorance...and in the world of rap, these 'principles' are regarded as badges of honor.

In our distinctly pc-society, why is this code given free pass when other combustible issues are beheaded and imploded before reaching critical mass? For example, gangland violence and pimping ho's have become acceptable, cool 'noise', while Hunting for Bambi has been banned and investigated for illegality.

Inevitably, some might characterize my analysis as anti-pc/racist generalization, but I believe I've arrived at this point not solely based on a cursory glance of our contemporary landscape. I watch MTV a lot, listen to pop music, make frequent visits to malls, and have a diverse group of friends.

And from what I've witnessed, as the vicissitudes of rap culture take on a more virulent and absent tone, it gathers more velocity, especially in the dominant, white majority. Bizarre.

So, am I missing something? I don't completely subscribe to the belief that succeeding generations develop a more callous hide, resulting in a greater acceptance of depravity. I also believe that a thoughtful discussion of the pitfalls of any culture or race shouldn't be knee-jerked as racist or hateful diatribe (an example to illustrate and to break the ice...I find it 'distasteful' to 'eat dog' and think US troops should toss the mantle of 'tripwire' and abandon the DMZ).

Thoughts?