What's new

Is there any way to get audio of STB through Home Theatre System (1 Viewer)

sensation

Auditioning
Real Name
John Smith
I have connected my STB via HDMI to TV and getting the audio from TV speakers. I have a Sony Home Theatre system DAV-HDX900W (with1 HDMI port) which is also connected via HDMI to TV to play DVDs. I would like to get audio of STB through Home Theatre system. I tried plugging in cables from STB Audio OUT to Sat Audio IN of Home Theatre with no luck. The other way I found is to run Audio Out from TV to Audio IN of Home Theatre which works but no sound from TV speakers. Is there any way that I can connect my STB audio to Home Theatre and can get audio from Home Theatre system as well as TV Speakers ?? I am a complete noob so any help would be appreciated. Thanks

gene c

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Gene
Try connecting the STB to the Sony HT with the HDMI cable and then run component video cables and the red/white audio cables to the tv.

sensation

Auditioning
Real Name
John Smith
Thanks for your suggestion. If I understood it correctly the output of Video from HT to TV will be through component cables and HDMI port of HT will act as input from STB. T Is it possible to connect component out of STB to component in of Sony HT and use HDMI of HT as out to TV HDMI ?? Thanks for your time.

gene c

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Gene