1. We suffered a brief outage this morning when our host noticed that HTF needed to be moved to a different server due to a hardware failure. That work is now complete. Please post in the feedback area if you have any issues.
    Dismiss Notice

Is there a way to hook up my computer to my TV?

Discussion in 'Displays' started by RentBaxley, Nov 13, 2004.

  1. RentBaxley

    RentBaxley Agent

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    I hvae a 42" Mistubishi rear projectoin HDTV. I would like to use it as a monitor for my laptop, is this possible? I don't even know where to begin...

    Thanks!
    -R
     
  2. SimiA

    SimiA Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does your puter video card have the necessary connections that can run to the Mits? DVI/HDMI S-video??
    Do you have software like powerstrip installed for custom resolutions?
    Vb
     
  3. Ian-Fl

    Ian-Fl Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2003
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    You've asked a very general question that requires a specific answer.
    Generally RPTV's have VGA or 15 pin inputs. If you're laptop has the same output then it's a simple cable connection.
     
  4. ChrisWiggles

    ChrisWiggles Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    4,791
    Likes Received:
    1
    It really depends on the capability of the RPTV and available inputs.

    For non-HD sets you are stuck with using composite or s-video from a computer which will look terrible for computer uses, unless you are using your computer for video. Desktop and things will look terrible.

    If you have HD-capabilities on your display, then there are a number of ways to get HD resolutions to it for display, but this depends on the set.
     
  5. RentBaxley

    RentBaxley Agent

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    My RPTV is a Mitsubishi 42" HD, model WT-42311. The only imports that it has that I know of are S-Video, Video, and and component video inputs with 480i/480p/1080i Capability.

    My Laptop, as far as i know, doens't have any video card or software for this purpose. It is a thinkpad T41.

    Does this info help at all?
     
  6. Ian-Fl

    Ian-Fl Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2003
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was reading up on your Mitsubishi and it says, "It has a comprehensive selection of jacks, including three broadband component-video inputs (one can also handle RGB/HV input."
    The RGB/HV input is interesting because I think that's compatible with a HD15 or a VGA connector.
    So all you'd need is a component breakout cable.
    http://www.digitalconnection.com/Pro...les/SCVM3R.asp
     
  7. Ian-Fl

    Ian-Fl Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2003
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe there's someone who can confirm this.
     
  8. RentBaxley

    RentBaxley Agent

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Ian, it may be worth a buy just to try it out. I have my manual, and it looks like those jacks are for the HDTV Tuner or something. Hmm...anyone have any idea if this setup would work, or how I could find out before blowing $50?
     
  9. Anthony_J

    Anthony_J Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    A related question: I have a Panny 53WX53. The manual says that I shouldn't use it for computer display. Is this a "safe" statement made by Panasonic to avoid complaints about burn-in, etc. or is it really bad to use my HD set as a monitor?
     

Share This Page