Is there a doctor in the house?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Mike__D, Aug 20, 2002.

1. Mike__D

Mike__D Supporting Actor

Over the last few years, I have tried excersing every few months. Most of time, I'd workout too hard when starting, then I'd catch a cold, which would usually develope into a sinus problem. After I would recover, I'd lose all motivation to go at it again.

Well, recently I started again, and started much easier this time. All was well until I started riding my bike hard. Sunday and Monday I went on 18 mile rides, pushing somewhat hard, and after Monday's hour ride, I worked out my upper body for about 45 minutes. Close to bed time the coughing started, and today I fell horrible, very weak, coughing, a bit light headed.

Finally, my question, does over exerting yourself weaken the immune system? If so, what can be done to prevent this? Taking vitamins? Eating better? I'm guessing if my body is trying to heal my muscles, other "systems" in your body get neglected somewhat? Is this correct or do I have NO idea what I'm talking about?

Thanks,

Mike D.

2. LDfan

LDfan Supporting Actor

I'm not a doctor but took some immunology classes for my degree in bio. The immune system is a mysterious thing and everyone's works a little different. Stress will certainly make you more susceptible to illness. Just take a look at any college campus at finals time. After a few all-nighters everyone starts getting sick.
    Not sure about why you are feeling that bad after exercising though.

Jeff

3. TimDoss

TimDoss Second Unit

I would definitely stop exercising until you can get in
    to see a doctor. And I'd see a doctor as soon as possible.

4. Jefferson

Jefferson Supporting Actor

Probably coincidence, but this exact same scenario has happened to me.

5. Mike__D

Mike__D Supporting Actor