Is the Rotel 1095 the best HT amp out there for under $2k?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by ScottH, Jan 31, 2002.

1. ScottH

ScottH Producer

Scott Hanson
    I am really looking into going to separates for my Home Theater only setup. I don't really know if I should get a 5 channel amp (like the Rotel) and power everything with that, or get a 3 channel amp (like the Stratos) and power the rears with my Marantz SR-8000.

I'm really a newbie at this whole "separates" thing and was wondering what kind of electrical power I need to run one of these big amps. Can I just plug it into my power strip? Or do I need some kind of dedicated line conditioner?

2. Dustin B

Dustin B Producer

As ThomasW pointed out to me a little while ago, there are some incredible deals to be had on Audiogon for some truely top notch amps. For example:
    http://cgi.audiogon.com/cgi-bin/cl.p...600&class&3&4&
    $2300 for an Aragon 8008x5. This amps is 200Wx5 at 8ohms, 400Wx5 at 4ohms and 800Wx5 at 2ohms. And is stable at 2ohms as well. If you can move up the $300 and the cost of shipping this 107pound amp to where you are it will be one you can keep for a long long time. Then later if you decide you need more you should be able to find a 2ch or 3ch version of the 8008.

3. Legairre

Legairre Supporting Actor