What's new

Is the DENON 2800 for 256$ a good deal? (1 Viewer)

Juan_T

Stunt Coordinator
Hi, Im a total ignorant when it comes to DVD players.. I have a player which Ive been using for the past 3 years (Phillips Magnavox).. which I bought for 50$. Sometimes the player gets stuck and sometimes it cant read certain DVDs.. I'm tired of it, so the time has come to upgrade.

Anyways, I just saw a listing of a refurbished Denon DVD-2800 unit for 256$, should I get it or wait.. will I really miss out on not having the SACD feature of newer models? will I notice a big difference between the 2800's Silicon Image/DVDO PureProgressive (SiI503) vs the newer Silicon Image/DVDO PureProgressive (SiI504)? The truth is that I only want to spend around the mid 200s..

My TVs best input is the S-Video.. does that mean that progressive scan wont work? or should I stick to what I have until I upgrade my TV (SONY WEGA KV-27FS12)?

I would like to spend mid-200s!

Thanks a lot,

JT

btw, I dont have a dedicated CD player.. and my Audio system is pretty decent. (DENON ARV-3802, KLIPSCH RF3, RC3, and RSW3)

Juan_T

Stunt Coordinator
WOW 21 views and not a single response.. perhaps I joined an advanced forum or something..
are my questions that dumb?

it can take you experts 2 mins to answer my questions.. and me a couple of hours learning everything.. in the mean time the deal is probably gone on the DVD player.

hmmm

Rob Kramer

Second Unit

Probably for the better. The answer to all those questions you posted is: Yes.

Are you mainly looking for audio or video performance? Are you looking for hi-rez music? When are you upgrading your tv? What displays are you looking at?

Have the read the "budget DVD player shootout" at secrets yet?

And no, progressive scan will not work on your current tv.

Juan_T

Stunt Coordinator
Hi thanks for the reply,

No I have not read "budget DVD player shootout".. I'll do a google search and try to find it.