Is the cable different between RCA and Component?

Discussion in 'Accessories, Cables, and Remotes' started by Tim_, Apr 13, 2005.

  1. Tim_

    Tim_ Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is the cable different between RCA and Component? They look exactly the same to me. Please shade some light into this. I hate to waste my money on a new set of cable just rename to Component.
     
  2. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    Component cables are for video and MUST be 75 Ohm for them to work properly, so not any old RCA cable will work. That doesn't mean you need to spend $200 on them. For most of your cable needs you can check out www.bluejeanscables.com
     
  3. Tim_

    Tim_ Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I never used Component connection before. Is there a great deal of improvement in video quality that is visible?
     
  4. Ryan Leemhuis

    Ryan Leemhuis Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A slight increase over s-video. Definitely not as big of a difference as composite to s-video I think the % improvement is usually given to be:

    10% composite
    20% s-video
    25% component

    Could be wrong though.
     
  5. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    Picture quality won't really improve with component over s-vid, but color will. To me it's worth it.

    Is this for an HD display? If so, to get progressive scan you must use component or DVI/HDMI.

    If it's just an analog set with an interlaced player, s-vid should be fine.
     
  6. Ted Lee

    Ted Lee Lead Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    dvi/hdmi passes progressive scan? i didn't realize that...guess that makes sense....
     
  7. Tim_

    Tim_ Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks, John Garcia. A new lesson for me. I'll remember that when I get a HD. Fow now I'm still on my 50" projection TV.
     
  8. Bob McElfresh

    Bob McElfresh Producer

    Joined:
    May 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    There CAN be a dramatic improvement over Composite. If you have a Sat system or a CATV box with a menu system, try hooking booth types of connections up and toggle back and forth.

    Look at the long, straight lines in the menu system. With composite, you will see little black dots 'crawl' on the lines. Svideo will remove nearly all of these and Component even more.

    If you have a DVD movie with lots of bright colors like Austin Powers or one of the Toy Story movies, freeze things on a scene with large areas of color that intersect other colors. Toggle between the connection types and you should notice that with the component feed, the colors remain thicker/more solid all the way to where it intersects some other color. With the composite feed, the color will start to dim near the intersection.
     

Share This Page