Is Panasonic AE900 the right projector for my needs?

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Brian Beecher, Feb 23, 2006.

1. Brian Beecher

Hi everybody. Here is my situation. I am a portrait photographer and am looking for a projector that I can use with my laptop to display slideshows for clients. I figured that since I am setting up this room with a projector I may as well get one also capable of doing a nice job with movies and games. I guess the question now is the Panasonic AE900 a good option for this double duty? The room size is 17.5' by 11.5'. I will be able to completely control the light. The projector would be mounted on the back wall, so the 2x zoom lens is nice. Are there any issues with this unit that I should keep in mind? Normally I like to take a bit more time decideing with this type of purchase, but I need to come up with a decision pretty quickly. I found the projector for $1550 after rebate plus a blockbuster gift card, so it seems to be the nicest unit for the price I can find. Thanks a lot for any advice or tips you can provide.

Brian

2. Robert_J

Robert_J Lead Actor

Robert
    I bought my AE900 without seeing it as well and I have enjoyed every minute of it. I'm projecting on a 103" DIY screen made out of black-out cloth. I've done very little tweaking to the picture and I think it is great. Even my wife was amazed at the quality of the picture when we watched the Superbowl. It was her first time watching sports in HD. She is not a one to comment on the picture quality.

-Robert

3. ChrisWiggles

ChrisWiggles Producer

This is an excellent machine, however you should be aware that it has a dynamic iris, which greatly helps increase the on/off CR performance with video content. However, this will be of no use with still images. You may or may not want to disable the DI when doing a slideshow with still images.