What's new

Is my RPTV a true HDTV? (1 Viewer)

Gary GJB

Auditioning
I have a Hitachi 65SWX20B. Is it a true HDTV? I have satellite, what do I need to veiw the limited HDTV that is out there? If I replaced my current satellite antenae with the oval antenae and a set top box is that all I need? Thanks.

Hal_J

Agent
gary,
welcome to the forum. here is what i recommend. i am by no means an expert though.
first, read the manual that came with your tv. second, read through any FAQs and scan the threads in the basics area. you should see definitions for HDTV and the like. if after doing a little work on your own, you still cant figure it out, you might want to post a question like this over in the basics area.
if you still cant figure out what features your tv has, let me know, i would like to sell you a few... :)

Mike I

Supporting Actor
You need the HD satellite Set top box as well as an antenna for Over the air digital channels that are available in your area..There is actually quite a bit of HD on the National Network channels such as CBS, ABC and NBC..WB even has some.....
Go to www.titantv.com to see what digital channels are available in your area...Just about all the top 40 markets in the country have HD available to them now over the air and many major markets have HD available thru their cable provider..

Gary GJB

Auditioning
Mike I,
When you say "Over the air digital channels" on satellite what are you refering to? I thought all my satellite reception on Direct TV is digital. I would need the HD satellite and HD set top box to get the HD programming - am I correct?

ManW_TheUncool

His Own Fool
Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
ManW
Gary,