What's new

Is Monster worth the dough? (1 Viewer)

Don Morrison

Agent
I am fairly new to this whole HT thing, but seems to have grabbed me and is now taking me on a journey that I am barely prepared for: The journey into HT that is!!

I have Mitsu 46" 16:9 HD-ready RPTV, and some fairly cheap DVD and VCR players, etc. I am currently looking into buying a nice set of speakers and a receiver. I am thinking the Denon 1803 will fit my budget when it comes out in Fall. Anyway, I want to get some good interconnects, etc... But I can't afford to spend the amount that most high end cables cost. What are some good cables that I can get (interconnects, component, etc) that won't break my bank. I can really only afford to spend like $75-100 total on cables. Any suggestions??

Mike Matheson

Second Unit
Don,
With a budget for cables that's under $100, you should carefully list exactly what cables you'll need because even buying inexpensive (but decently built) cables you may go over $100 for a component cable, a digital cable or two, and some interconnects.
There are lots of threads here at HTF regarding inexpensive cables (search for "inexpensive cable" or simply look through the posting for the past month or so).
Radio Shack Gold Series may suit your needs, as may Acoustic Research (you can find the Pro series of AR cables at www.accessories4less.com at good prices).
Regards,
Mike

Chu Gai

Senior HTF Member
Interconnect: if there's a Target store by you, you might consider the following:
component cables 12' ge's seem to be rather well built, gold plugs...$20. http://www.target.com/common/catalog...ump&navCount=1
most of your other cables can certainly be obtained over at www.partsexpress.com
they've a toll free number, s/h won't gouge you, delivery is quick, service is good.
for example, a 100' ft roll of 12 gauge speaker wire $36.
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showd..._ID=2792&DID=7
you can pick up spades or bananas or whatever turns you on...