What's new

Is it worth it to get digital audio on a sat receiver? (1 Viewer)

jeff lam

Screenwriter
Real Name
Jeff Lam
I'm new to this whole satellite thing and I have a receiver and sat from directv and I noticed there are dolby digital receivers avalible. Are they worth it? Does the sound really come in DD like on the DVD's? If I decide to get this, can I just change my receiver, or will I need to get a new dish and service program, etc...?

Dan Joy

Supporting Actor
I have digital optical out from my sat receiver. Currently, only some pay per view and hbo and starz offer DD movies. IMO if you have a dvd player you probably dont need this unless you pay per view alot or watch alot of hbo or starz. It does work very well, jusst like dvd only I have not seen any DTS yet.

Jerome Grate

Senior HTF Member
You shouldn't only look at it from the Dolby Digital point of view. Yes Starz, HBO, and Showtime has Dolby Digital but using the digital domain for other channels I find to be very effective and great sounding.

Dan Stone

Stunt Coordinator
I recently watched Pearl Harbor in letterbox with Dolby Digital. No DTS, but it was nice not having to switch from DVD 1 to DVD 2 to watch the whole movie uninterrupted as I would have had I rented. Not having to run down to the video store to rent/return the movie or wait on Netflix (or similar mail order rental service) is also nice.

Just my opinion,

Dan

DarrellP

Stunt Coordinator
And if you get one that has Dolby Pro Logic II it will synthesize DD 5.1 from a stereo source. I don't have it but have heard great things about it.

As far as DD is concerned, YES!!! Go for it.

jeff lam

Screenwriter
Real Name
Jeff Lam
Sorry, I meant just the satellite receiver. I already have a Yamaha RXV620 with all the inputs I need.

Thanks!

MichaelGomez

Stunt Coordinator