What's new

Is it possible to Re-purpose old speakers? (1 Viewer)

Angelmartin11

Auditioning
Real Name
Martin Gomez
Hi, i recently found a couple of old speakers lying around in my house and I was thinking i could maybe use them with my tv, the tv is a samsung nu7100. The thing is the speakers have a weird connection, it seems like its just two cables (a red and a black one). Is there some kind of adapter or is it even possible to use them with the tv?
Photo 3-6-19, 5 13 59 PM.jpg

Photo 3-6-19, 5 13 43 PM.jpg
Btw im a noob when it comes to this topic :huh:

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Premium
Ambassador
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
That's not a weird connection at all. They're just regular speakers that connect to a regular receiver/amplifier. There's two steps to get from the TV to being able to use the speakers. You need to decode the digital optical output from the TV, and then amplify it, with a volume control. There are a lot of ways to get there, but the simplest I find after a short search is something like THIS. You probably want something with a remote control, since the remote for the TV will no longer control the volume, but you can get away a lot cheaper if you're OK not to have remote volume control.

BTW, it's possible you can get away with just a simple amp, if the TV has a remote controlled, analog audio output. Unfortunately, none is mentioned in the TV's specs, and most TVs these days don't have that anymore.

Angelmartin11

Auditioning
Real Name
Martin Gomez