Is it just me or do cables really make a difference?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Howard_S, Nov 20, 2001.

1. Howard_S

Howard_S Supporting Actor

I'm a newbie and don't exactly have a critical eye. But I bought and connected the Ultralink Stereophile S-video cable from my DVD player to my TV replacing my composite connection from DVD to receiver to TV and it seems that the whole picture is brighter and clearer. Grainer too perhaps. But it does seem to me that everything is more clear. I can see the chapter names more clearly in the chapter search screen. Is it just me or did it really make a big difference. The combination of switching from composite to S-Video and connecting from DVD straight to TV?

2. Mike Voigt

Mike Voigt Supporting Actor

Howard,

composite is one (minor) step above standard cable (F-type) connector.

The difference between composite and S-Video is enormous, I'd say more so than that between S-Video and component-interlaced, and component-interlaced to component-progressive. Or, for that matter, RGB.

Mostly, it has to do with the TV not having to separate out the color and luminosity components from a single signal. While the mfrs did what they could to keep the signals separate (they differentiated them by a shift in frequency, IIRC), the problem has always been that there is a small crossover point, as well as the capacity of the filters in the TV to handle it. Better filter = better results.

S-Video keeps them separate, but still combines the color signals into a single stream. Component splits them out into three streams, but they're still interlaced, meaning even lines in one frame, then odd lines next frame, then even lines in third, and so on.

Progressive sends the first two frames together, which on fast motion essentially eliminates "jaggies" and such.