Is ENTERPRISE in High Definition?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Steve Tannehill, Sep 26, 2001.

  1. Steve Tannehill

    Steve Tannehill Ambassador

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 1997
    Messages:
    5,547
    Likes Received:
    215
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    DFW
    Real Name:
    Steve Tannehill
    I guess I'll find out in just over 4 hours...but if anyone else has seen it already, I'd be curious to know. Our UPN station in D/FW has an HD channel, but to my knowledge, they have yet to broadcast any HD content...
    - Steve
     
  2. Matt_Stevens

    Matt_Stevens Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2000
    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  3. Jeff Kleist

    Jeff Kleist Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 1999
    Messages:
    11,267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As far as I know, neither WB or UPN has broadcast any HD stuff. Too bad, Enterprise would have been killer in HD!
    Jeff Kleist
     
  4. Paul W

    Paul W Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 1999
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It does appear to be 1.78:1 AR. I watched it wil full zoom.
    ------------------
    [​IMG] Paul Warren
    Hey fella . . . I bet you're still livin' in your parent's cellar . . . downloading pictures of Sarah Michelle Gellar . . . and posting "Me too!" like some brain-dead AOL-er . . . I should do the world a favor and cap ya' like Old Yeller . . . you're just about as useless as MPEGs [sic] to Hellen Keller.
     
  5. Mark_D_Drake

    Mark_D_Drake Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2001
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    From a reply to an email sent to UPN-44 SF Bay Area after begin forced to watch a 16x9 image centered in a 4x3 Transmission....
    > Hello
    >
    > UPN is not delivering 1080i to the network.
    > At this present time DT45 can not broadcast HD only SD 480i.
    >
    >
    Thanks for taking the time to write.
    Anyone know how we contact UPN to find out when they will deliver a 1080i signal to the network affiliates... I sense a campaign coming on.
    -M
     
  6. Brajesh Upadhyay

    Brajesh Upadhyay Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 1998
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It is recorded in HD. There are a couple of posts @ the avs-forum on it. Maybe one day we can actually view it in HD. Watching it on my crappy cable system in zoomed 480i (on my 16:9 HDTV) was a painful experience.
    [Edited last by Brajesh Upadhyay on September 28, 2001 at 09:25 AM]
     
  7. Art_Courville

    Joined:
    May 27, 2001
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, after my second message to UPN-44 pushing for more information, I was told "You can try contacting the network about this. Their number is: 310-575-7123."
    >>Anyone know how we contact UPN to find out when they will deliver a 1080i signal to
    >>the network affiliates... I sense a campaign coming on.
     
  8. RAF

    RAF Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    7,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As was already mentioned, Enterprise is filmed in HD by Paramount. Even though it is not being broadcast in HD at this time, the real market for anything even remotely related to Star Trek is in the syndication and residual market. By the time this new series has run its course HD will,I hope, be much more common and this series will be positioned to take advantage of the (then) current technology.
    Live long and profit.
    [​IMG]
    ------------------
    RAF
    [Demented Video Dude since 1997]
    [Computer Maven since 1956]
    ["PITA" since 1942]
    My HT (latest update 02/05/01)
     
  9. PatrickM

    PatrickM Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2000
    Messages:
    1,138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  10. Michael St. Clair

    Joined:
    May 3, 1999
    Messages:
    6,001
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Also according to AVS and sources cited there, the special effects are rendered in NTSC. So, if they do a real hi-def version some day, the effects will be upconverted (or they will have to redo them).
     
  11. GregK

    GregK Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2000
    Messages:
    1,023
    Likes Received:
    247
    Trophy Points:
    1,610
    I guess the only trek series ready for HDTV is the original,
    with being produced entirely on film. Of course the 1.33:1
    aspect ratio would present a small problem.
     
  12. Lee L

    Lee L Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2000
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That and the fact that most of those sets were probably made out of cardboard. [​IMG]
     
  13. Andrew Beacom

    Andrew Beacom Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2001
    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes. But that is 1960's High Definition cardboard.
     
  14. RAF

    RAF Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    7,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Actually, I was able to get onto the original Star Trek sets at Paramount many years ago and, without a doubt, if an HDTV version was created it would expose the shodiness of the construction. Very cheap cardboard, aluminum foil, bits and pieces of throwaway metal and junque were abundant.
    ------------------
    RAF
    [Demented Video Dude since 1997]
    [Computer Maven since 1956]
    ["PITA" since 1942]
    My HT (latest update 02/05/01)
     

Share This Page