Is DVD-audio different from "DTS DVD-audio/video"?

Discussion in 'Music' started by Scott Stephens, Oct 8, 2003.

1. Scott Stephens

Scott Stephens Stunt Coordinator

I'm new to the whole DVD-Audio game, so forgive me if this question is redundant or ignorant.

I just got a sampler disc from DTS that's coded as a "DVD-Audio/Video" release. I don't have a formally DVD-audio capable player (just a 2 year old basic Sony DVD player), yet the disc plays fine and all the audio tracks are audible.

Is this a "true" DVD-Audio disc, and are all DVD-audio discs like this, or is this just specific to the DTS releases (it seems like I read something about DTS music discs being playable through any DVD player that was DTS capable)? If I want to play DVD-audio discs, I thought I had to have a player that was specifically DVD-audio capable (like only SACD players can decode the SACD format--excluding the hybrid discs, of course).

Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

2. John Kotches

John Kotches Cinematographer

Part of the spec for DVD-Audio discs is backwards compatibility with DVD-Video players.

Every DVD-Audio should contain tracks playable in DVD-Video players, and of the titles I have (about 150) all of them contain DVD-Video compatible tracks.

Regards,

3. Scott Stephens

Thanks John. Do you mean that ALL of the tracks on the DVD-Audio discs will be compatible (playable) on DVD-Video players, or just some? I wasn't sure if that's what you were getting at in your post. Thanks.

4. Scott Stephens