What's new

Is a gold-plated HDMI cable really worth it (1 Viewer)

JosefSchmalle

Auditioning
Real Name
Josef Schmalle
Hi everyone,

I'm pretty new to this so here goes :)

I've recently decided to set up a home cinema system in the drawing room and have bought an LG OLED 8K smart TV and I'm looking around for accessories.

I'm thinking of getting an 8K HDMI cable from https://bunu.tech/bunu-hdmi/home.html which apparently has a 48GB per second transfer rate and is capable of displaying up to 10K but I keep on reading conflicting information online about the efficacy of gold-plated cables.

Question: is there any difference in transfer rates and what does this mean for my experience?

There are cables online for up to £2500 and I'm willing to look at it if there is a genuine difference in experience.

Any info is appreciated :)

J

Ronald Epstein

Founder
Owner
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Ronald Epstein
First, welcome to our forum. Happy you stopped by to ask a very important question.

Expensive HDMI cables are such a racket and consumers who don't know any better end up getting ripped off in the process.

Please do not spend that kind of money on HDMI cables.

I am going to give you a link to highly recommended cables but they are from U.S. Amazon. However, I am certain you can find comparable on Amazon for your country. These are HDMI Certified which is important and cost nearly nothing.

Even Amazon sells their own brand of high-speed cable that will work fine, though I would personally not go that route. I don't know if they. are certified are not.

You should be able to find a cable with the same specs for the same price where you are.

I am so glad you came here and asked this question. I am hoping others will chime in with their thoughts. I just get really upset with stores selling outrageously priced HDMI cable to push on customers buying new displays. You absolutely don't need to spend that kind of money to get exceptional performance from a cable.

YANG