Interconnect/Subwoofer cable question

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Dan Cabral, Jul 9, 2002.

  1. Dan Cabral

    Dan Cabral Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I need to purchase a set of 5 interconnect cables to hook my amp up to my receiver. The best deal I've found on decent cables that fit my needs are sold in pairs.

    Since I only need 5 for the amp-receiver hookup, can I take the extra cable and use it to replace my current subwoofer cable, or would an interconnect not work (or not work well) for that particular use?
     
  2. Dave Nibeck

    Dave Nibeck Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2000
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sure, if its long enough.
     
  3. Dan Cabral

    Dan Cabral Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there any practical difference between a cable designated as an "interconnect" and one designated as a "subwoofer cable"?
     
  4. Greg_R

    Greg_R Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2000
    Messages:
    1,996
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Real Name:
    Greg
    They are identical except for the length.
     
  5. Dan Cabral

    Dan Cabral Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, I've seen "interconnects" that are 1m, and "subwoofer cables" that are 1m, so I gather it's just marketing fluff to make you think you need one cable over another.
    Thanks for the info, guys. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page