Integra 8.3-first observations

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Mark LP, Nov 20, 2002.

1. Mark LP

Mark LP Agent

Hello all,
    I wanted to pass on a few comments regarding this new DVD player. First, be forewarned, I'm not an expert by any means. I'm a slighlty more informed consumer.
    Current system:
    tv-Mitsu WT-42311
    recevier-Integra 8.2
    spkrs front biwired- Kef Reference 2~2
    spkrs rear- Kef RDM Two
    center- Kef Reference model 100
    sub- Velodyne FSR12
    connects-mid level monster cable except:
    dvd-rec 7.1 multichannel connects- Taralabs 3300
    dvd-rec componet- Taralabs 303v
    I was looking for a new dvd player that would play dvd-audio. The bonus is that this one also plays sacds. I had narrowed it down to the Kenwood Sovereign 5700m, Pioneer Elite, some form of Yamaha, or Integra. I had ruled out the denons due to recent technical/mechanical problems. I wasn't overly thrilled with the tonal quality, apparent build quality or look of the Kenwood. I ruled out the pioneer because it was so comprable to the Integra and the Integra would be a better match to my current system. I was able to demo a roughly comprable DCDI Yamaha side-by-side to the Integra. The video quality was virtually identical. Tested Fifth Element superbit...same cable, same tv. I decided the chroma bug was not going to ruin my life if I saw it from time to time. I also decided that the audio was truly 7/10ths of a movie and the video the balance. Therefore, the Integra 8.3 separated me from my cash. (sorry all you sony fans...Im just not a believer. I'm replacing a DVP-S650D.)
    video quality after quick Avia run-thru- A-