What's new

Installing a SC-PT660 (1 Viewer)

dnavia

Auditioning
Real Name
Daniel
Hello all. I am completely new to anything related to home theater systems and really need some help. I have a Panasonic Viera 42'' Plasma tv. Before the home theater system was purchased I had my Scientific Atlanta 4250HD connected into component 1 of the TV, a Nintendo Wii connected into component 2, xbox 360 connected into HDMI 1, and ps3 connected into HDMI 2. Now I bought this home theater for a really cheap price, and noticed it has a limited amount of ports. I have a couple questions. What is the most effective way of connected at least one of the devices to the home theater to get 5.1 sound? The way it is currently set up now is the component video cables go from the 4250HD to the tv and the component sound goes to the receiver. The HDMI port from the receiver then connects to HDMI 1. When I have the tv set to the component 1, it automatically switches the receiver to AUX, and I get normal sound. However, I do not get surround sound unless I have the Dolby Pro Logic enabled. From my understanding, Pro Logic is fake surround essencially. I also tried connecting an optical audio cable from my ps3 to the reciever, and an HDMI cable from the ps3 to the tv. When I did this, I set the ps3 to use optical cable for audio, and to recieve the video feed from HDMI2. Yet no 5.1 unless I used pro logic. The issue of connecting mutliple pieces of hardware can be resolved with an HDMI switch which I intend to get, but I wonder why I cannot get 5.1 with any set up I've tried. Is it perhaps that only one device can be connected? I don't have much experience, but do not want to pay an insane price to have a pro install it for me. What would be your recommendation? Or if you had the set I had with the devices I had, your means of installing it? Thanks for your time.

Ed Moxley

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Ed