Information about Wonka and Cats & Dogs petitions needed!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Joshua Clinard, Jan 26, 2002.

1. Joshua Clinard

Joshua Clinard Screenwriter

Joshua Clinard
    I am a webmaster at www.widescrenadvocate.com. Our site is opening soon, and I was wondering if anyone could provide me with some information on the Willy Wonka and Cats & Dogs petitions. I have written a little summary for each one, and I was wondering if anyone could help me fill in
    any missing details, incorrect dates, data, or sources. Thank you.
    Wonka Petition:
    In early August of 2001, Warner Home Video sent DVDFile a DVD screener of Willy Wonka & The Chocolate Factory (30th Anniversary Edition) to review. The Disc was due August 28th. Despite all previous announcements, the disc did not include the promised widescreen image. Even J.M. Kelly, the producer of the DVD, did not know that the DVD did not include the widescreen image. Soon after this was reported, Phong Huynh, an HTF member initiated an online petition urging Warner to release a widescreen Willy Wonka. All the major DVD web sites, and the Home Theater communities supported this petition. The petition had gathered more than 11,500 signatures, by August 21st. Then, Warner Home Video issued a press release announcing that a widescreen DVD would be released on Nov. 13th. On August 23rd, Warner issued a press release stating that a widescreen Wonka would arrive on November 13th.
    (Who is J.M. Kelly?)
    Cats & Dogs Petition:
    On 8/15/2001, thedigitalbits announced that Warner's Cats & Dogs would be full frame only. Soon after, Chris Hillery created a petition to get Warner Home Video to release Cats & Dogs in widescreen. After gathering over 3000 signatures, it was announced that there would be a widescreen
    version. (I couldn't find the date of this annoucement.)
    I am especially hazy on the details of the Cats & Dogs petition. Any help would be greatly appreciated!