What's new

InFocus Question (1 Viewer)

Kevin-W

Auditioning
I'm setting up my first HT system, and I have a quick question regarding InFocus projectors.

I will be throwing from about 12 feet,from the ceiling, and having the primary seating at about the same distance.

I have used all the calculators, and I'm struggling to find a real difference between the InFocus X1 and the Screenplay 4800, except the $300 extra and native XGA on the 4800.

There are some other minor differences as well, all of which I don't quite understand yet... :)

Does anyone have an opinion on which of these 2 projectors I should consider? If there's a big difference between the 2, I would be happy to spend the extra $300.

Any thoughts are appreciated. Thanks!

Zeeshan T

Agent
I am also new to this but i have been researching this for the past week. I think you should go for the x1. I know the x1 has an awesome contrast ratio and i believe it has a 1000 lumens. If your room is fairly dark, i would suggest saving that extra $300 and buy an x1. You could spend some of the extra money on a low gain screen. Thats jus my advice from what i have read on the web over the past week. Hope it helps.

Jordan_E

Senior HTF Member
I've owned an X1 since last summer and it's terrific! I'm just now looking into a DIY screen, but the wall has been good enough for this sweet little projector. As long as you have the room and a clean wall large enough for your needs, you'll be good to go as soon as you get the X1.

Dave Man

Stunt Coordinator
The X1 and 4800 are identical. My fee for this information? $300!!! lol

Seriously though, these projectors are the same deal. You may verify this information through Infocus directly, but I've contacted them and talked to 3 people to verify. (I like to make sure before I buy as well...)

So...what to do with that extra $300 that is now burning a hole in your pocket?