Infocus...More like OuttaFocus

Discussion in 'Displays' started by DustinB, Mar 22, 2004.

  1. DustinB

    DustinB Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anyone here have experience with Infocus projectors? I have an LP790 that i'm trying to tune up myself. Not to sure on whether it's a physical adjustment or rs-232 command line adjustment to sync the colors back up. If anyone has any ideas, please post them. Thanks, DustinB
     
  2. Greg_R

    Greg_R Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2000
    Messages:
    1,996
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Real Name:
    Greg
  3. DustinB

    DustinB Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    They only have the BS commands. I imagine there is a way to access a service mode via a combination of buttons on the projector itself, or an rs-232 command not listed on the Infocus site, or even a combination of both...[​IMG]
     
  4. Gabriel_Lam

    Gabriel_Lam Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What exactly is going on with the colors?
     
  5. DustinB

    DustinB Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When you look at the screen the image appears to be tripled. You can see the red image, blue image and green image are not overlapping correctly.
     
  6. Gabriel_Lam

    Gabriel_Lam Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ugh, seems like the LCD panels were not aimed properly before being glued together in the optical block. You need to get that sent back.
     
  7. DustinB

    DustinB Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's an issue with the heat I believe.
     
  8. DustinB

    DustinB Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What do these lcd panels look like? Maybe I can play with them.
     
  9. Gabriel_Lam

    Gabriel_Lam Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Remove the screws on the sides, and also the one in the middle. Pop the top off. You'll see 3 colored panels a few inches behind the lens. As mentioned above, they're glued into their respective locations.
     
  10. DustinB

    DustinB Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    cool
     
  11. ChrisWiggles

    ChrisWiggles Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    4,791
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It isn't really fixable by a DIYer....needs to go back to get serviced. Mess around with it yourself and they aren't going to want to do that.
     
  12. DustinB

    DustinB Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Too much $$$. I have 22 of these in operation, which will be replaced w/Hitachi 880's, but I'b like to fix these myself if possible.
     
  13. ChrisWiggles

    ChrisWiggles Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    4,791
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm saying it is not fixable by yourself. The panels are glued in place, and the adjustments necessary are insanely minute, hundredths/thousandths of an inch or something. I don't know of anybody successfully fixing panel misalignment on an LCD, if that is even the problem with your unit. I beleive some units have service/factory menus that allow you to shift the image around on the panel pixel by pixel, which can help the problem. You'll have to hunt around for that information though.
     
  14. DustinB

    DustinB Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I know the service menu has a Service Code option. All the manual says is that this is where operators enter the service code. Not to sure what it is or how to enter it, possibly a combination of buttons or an rs-232 command?
     
  15. Robert Cowan

    Robert Cowan Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    someone really isnt getting the hint here...

    maybe ill try...

    Dustin: the panels are glued/fixed in place, they cannot be moved by you, and even if they could, its by human hair incriments. secondly, the service menu will not contain convergence in it, so stop wasting time there.

    lastly, if you have 22 of them, you should have SOME kinda warranty, or at least some relationship with your dealer. get them to figure it out. and, if i afforded 22 of them (personal or business), my time would not be wasted dealing with this matter personally.
     
  16. ChrisWiggles

    ChrisWiggles Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    4,791
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Actually, the factory menu access would be something to persue, because if the panels are off by a few pixels, you might be able to shift the image on the panel, and lose some pixels at the edges, but still end up with a good picture with only slight misalignment, which will be apparent on any projector. You could try asking at AVS, I ran a search w/regards to this projector and nothing came up, but if there is an image shift adjustment somewhere, you could improve the image without having to send it in to get the panels aligned.
     
  17. DustinB

    DustinB Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Any idea on what the code maybe? Yeah, they had warranties, now they don't, end of story. I'm one minded on this situation and I will find the code.
     
  18. JoeDeM

    JoeDeM Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2001
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    10
    Location:
    Barrie, Ontario
    Real Name:
    Joe


    Your best bet is to buy the Service Manual for this, they usally cost about $60 to $100 and would give you all the service codes as well as repair info.
     
  19. DustinB

    DustinB Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Know a good place to find one? Infocus direct?
     
  20. DustinB

    DustinB Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    HAHA, i found them! They're all mine!
     

Share This Page