Infocus 4805 vs. Sp5000 I need help

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Eric L., Jan 30, 2006.

1. Eric L.

Eric L. Extra

Ok after looking at a ton of the pics in the gallery and reading threads, I noticed quite a few people using the Infocus projectors. I have found the Infocus 4805 and Sp5000 for the same price after rebates.

I am in the process of finishing a space in my basement that is approx. 18x12 with a 7ft ceiling. 95% of the time it will be completely dark to watch DVD's and the other 5% will be for watching sports while playing cards.

Since this is my first attempt at a HT, I want something that has that "WOW" effect, but I don't want to get in over my head with a complicated set up...

Let me know what you guys think. I'm open to all ideas.

2. Joseph Bolus

Joseph Bolus Cinematographer

The IF 4805, a single-chip DLP projector, provides a better overall "balanced picture" due to its outstanding contrast ratio attributes. It's main performance limitation in comparison to the IF 5000 is the fact that it's a 480p native resolution projector. This is actually an advantage when viewing DVD since it doesn't have to scale this source. A well mastered DVD just looks stunning on a properly calibrated IF 4805; and 1080i cable High-Def sources look surprisingly good as well due to the 4805's excellent de-interlacer and scaler circuitry. A (very few) people that are hyper-sensitive to RBE (color separation artifacts caused by the spinning color wheel) might see them with this projector. The unit employs a 4x speed, 6-segment wheel which should eliminate RBE for about 90% (or better) of the population.