What's new

Infinity Speakers (1 Viewer)

ChipD

Grip
I recently demoed the Infinity Alpha 50 speakers along with an Alpha 37C center and Alpha surrounds (don't have the product numbers with me for the surrounds). I thought they sounded great, but I haven't read too much about Infinity. Also, I am just beginning to demo speakers (I'm a first time buyer) so I don't have much to compare them to (I also listened to definitive and klipsch). Any thoughts on Infinity, good or bad? If I like these, what else would I be interested in? I am planning to listen to B&W and NHT too. My price range is about $2000 (for 5.1), and I will listen to music and movies.

Also, does anyone have any recommendations for a sub? The salesman recommended a Sunfire sub (about $1000). This sub was very small and wouldn't take up much space. Any input would help.

Thanks!

Victor Chan

Stunt Coordinator
ChipD,

Infinity isn't a bad brand and they have a pretty decent following, though most of the good speakers I am familiar with from them are at a higher price range and of a previous generation.

Really the only thing you can really do when you are first starting your search is to hear a lot of different speakers and to define what are you looking for in a speaker and what speaker manufacturers or lines provide that kind of sound within your budgetary limits. For examle, Infinitys sound distinctly different from B&Ws which sound different from NHTs... Even an audiophile novice like me could probably pick the speakers out by their sound signature alone.