What's new

Infinity Speakers (1 Viewer)

ChipD

Grip
I recently demoed the Infinity Alpha 50 speakers along with an Alpha 37C center and Alpha surrounds (don't have the product numbers with me for the surrounds). I thought they sounded great, but I haven't read too much about Infinity. Also, I am just beginning to demo speakers (I'm a first time buyer) so I don't have much to compare them to (I also listened to definitive and klipsch). Any thoughts on Infinity, good or bad? If I like these, what else would I be interested in? I am planning to listen to B&W and NHT too. My price range is about $2000 (for 5.1), and I will listen to music and movies.

Also, does anyone have any recommendations for a sub? The salesman recommended a Sunfire sub (about $1000). This sub was very small and wouldn't take up much space. Any input would help.

Thanks!

Ted Lee

Senior HTF Member
it sounds to me like you're doing the most critical thing when buying speakers. namely, that you're auditioning as many brands as you can. imo, that is a *key* issue that most people do not do.

would you buy your new car by test driving only one model? would you buy the very first house you toured? of course not...the same rule should apply to speakers.

listen to as many as you can...even if it's out of your price range. that way, you'll have an idea of what's available and will be able to make an informed decision.

also, please remember that the only person whose opinion matters is YOURS! if it sounds good to you, then that is all that matters.

all the speakers you named are good speakers. you should have no issues with any of them...

JohnnyG

Screenwriter
Infinity is very well-known brand actually. If you like their sound, you might want to check out Polk Audio speakers as well.

Justin

Auditioning
Infinity *drools