What's new

Infinity, JBL, Boston? (1 Viewer)

Gianluca

Agent
Hi everybody,

I'm a total newbie...

I'm thinking about buying some speakers for my living room.
I think I am going to have a 5x100W receiver.

I took a look over the internet and I saw some nice models:

Infinity Alpha5 HCSII
JBL SCS 20

Do you think they are powerful enough, or do you suggest to spend more money and buy something like:

Boston 9000II
Infinity Modulus
JBL SCS 178

Please note that I don't need to tear my wall down with too much power :D

If you think that I should consider some other models please post them.

PS I live in Italy, I could have some problems getting some models...

Gianluca

Agent
Ok, today I went to a local dealer.
The assistant showed me few models.

I was thinking about this configuration:

Polk R15 (L-R & Surround)
Polk Csi 20 (Centre)
Polk PSW 350 (Sub)

or

Boston CR55 (L-R & Surround)
Boston CRC (Centre)
Boston PV400 (Sub)

any suggestions?

Thanks!

Kip Lackey

Stunt Coordinator
I've got the Boston PV-400 sub. It works great for a smaller room and blends really well with the CR series. On your front speakers, maybe try to go a bit bigger such as the CR75. I have CR7's and a CR2 center channel. They sound really good together for movies and the front soundstage is seamless. I think you will like them and they have a very clean look. Boston has great service as well. I can't say anything for the Polk's as I've never owned any.

Gianluca

Agent
Thanks for the information!

I am thinking about spending max $900 for the speakers.

If anyone has a nice configuration for this money... don't hesitate...

Cheers!

:D :)

Mark Hedges

Second Unit
I would take a look at the JBL studio series:

S-38II mains $300
S-CenterII $150
S-36II surrounds $250

That leaves $200 for the sub. People liked the Sony SA-WM40 but that has been discontinued. There is a new model out (the SA-WM500) but I don't think a lot of people have it yet.

Mark

Gianluca

Agent