Inexpensive CD or DVD player that plays MP3-encoded CDs?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by KeithH, Aug 9, 2001.

1. KeithH

KeithH Lead Actor

I just got a new Dell desktop computer last week (the old Dell was fried in a lightning storm) and got a new internal CD burner and new software pre-loaded. Just last night, I used the Adaptec Easy CD Creator program for the first time to burn a CD-R mix using .wav files. The program is incredibly easy to use. I noticed that this program, like many others, can extract songs from CDs to MP3 files, so I started thinking (I hate when I do that [​IMG]) that maybe I should play around with making some MP3-encoded CDs. I've never done it before and it could be fun. So, I am looking for an inexpensive (around $200) CD or DVD player that will play MP3-encoded CDs. I don't want anything too expensive because I don't expect all-world fidelity from MP3-encoded CDs. I just want something inexpensive to have fun with. Here are my questions:
    1) Does anyone make an inexpensive single-disc CD player that plays MP3-encoded CDs? I know Harman/Kardon makes at least one carousel changer that plays these discs, but I don't want a changer. A single-disc player would be fine. The Sony CDP-XE370 at $140 would be perfect, but it is not MP3-compatible. [​IMG]