What's new

In Wall Speaker connections guidance (1 Viewer)

Paul D G

Screenwriter
I'm fairly certain I know what I need but I'm new to this and would rather ask than not and find out I should have. :)
We're doing some renovations (ie: adding a second floor above the kitchen and dining room) and I'm having the electrician run speaker wire for me so I can mount some speakers in that area.
I'm going to have the wires terminate at a wall plate behind the stereo so I can plug speakers into that. As for where the speakers will be mounted, I'm not sure what I should use at that end. Another wall plate or is there another option I'm not aware of?
I'm assuming this is what I'll need for the stereo's plate, and this for the speakers themselves.
The thing is, the speakers will be mounted in the jamb between the two rooms (7 foot wide jamb. the speakers will have swivel mounts so they can be angled towards whichever room). Because of this we have a narrow space to work with and I'm not sure how a wall plate in addition to the speaker mounts will look. Would it be better just to have the bare wire coming out of the wall since it will going directly into the speaker? We're talking three or four inches from exiting the wall and going into the speakers so putting a wall plate there might be more of a headache in the end than it's worth.
Thoughts, opinions?
-paul

Ted Lee

Senior HTF Member
paul -

your title states "in wall", but it sounds like you'll actually be mounting external speakers?

i'll assume you're talking about externally mounted speakers.

since the spacing is so tight, i think you're better off just running the wire straight out of the wall to the speaker. put a regular plate (something like a 75-ohm cable cover) on the wall. it will still have a nice finished look.

plus, if you run the wire directly to the speaker, that'll be one less break in the signal connection path.

Paul D G

Screenwriter