In the market for a new PC

Discussion in 'Computers' started by RentBaxley, Feb 2, 2005.

1. RentBaxley

RentBaxley Agent

I am looking to buy a new desktop computer primarily used for music. I would like to use my 42" Mitsubishi HDTV as the monitor. I will also be hooking it up to my home stereo receiver. From what I gather I am most likely going to want Windows Mediacenter. I have been looking at Dell mainly due to their reputation. I would rahter not build my own computer as I have no experience doing so. If something goes wrong I want to be able to call someone! I have a company laptop (T41) that I will be using for wordprocessing/excel etc.

I can get a discount from my company through www.pcmall.com, they have a number of Hewlett Packard desktops outfitted with Windows MC. Does anyone have any suggestions? I don't even know what type of tv tuner, soundcard etc. i am going to want.

Thanks for any input you may have

2. RentBaxley

RentBaxley Agent

Nobody has any advice on what type of PC to go with? HP, Dell, Sony Vaio etc. etc???/

3. Rob Gardiner

Rob Gardiner Cinematographer

Well Rent, you said you didn't want one that you put together yourself, but that is what I always recommend. If you want to avoid unexplained crashes and other problems, the three most important pieces of hardware are the RAM, the power supply, and the chipset on the motherboard. The big manufacturers such as Dell and Compaq often cut corners on those very items in order to offer the best price. Do you have a friend who will put together a computer for you in exchanged for a home-cooked meal? Can you cook? [​IMG] I get my parts from www.newegg.com and www.directron.com and I'm always happy with the results. I talked my boss into letting me put together a workstation here at work and it runs like a champ! If there is some way you can make the DIY approach practical, I would be happy to offer recommendations for which parts to buy.