in need of HTiB help

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Chris_harpua, Feb 24, 2004.

1. Chris_harpua

Chris_harpua Agent

Hi,
    im pretty new at the whole HT thing, i am in the market for a home theater system that is in the $300-500 range w/out a dvd player. I am now looking at Onkyo and Kenwood as my main options. I found a nice Kenwood (htb-206) for $300 at best buy but the woofer is not powered. ive heard that passive woofers are a bad thing, I just wanted to know what is so bad about them and would a 100 watt passive woofer deliver enough bass for me? my living room is about 12'x16' give or take. i want to get a good sounding system but i dont have the cash to dump $800 on just the system itself. any suggestions would be appreciated.

on another note, id like to know where is the best place to buy these systems? i want to get a warantee on it so i dont have to worry about fixing anything on it if something breaks in the next 4 or 5 years, so that makes me worry about some online venders.

last question, what are your opinions on the Sony dvd player, the dvp-ns725p. its a basic single disc player and has good reviews online, just wanted the experts' opinions as well. =)

thanks for any help you guys can give me.

2. Steve Schaffer

Steve Schaffer Producer

Forget the Kenwood and go for the Onkyo HTS760--it's in Circuit City's current flier for $499. This is a 6.1 system without dvd player, comes with real speakers not little silver plastic boxes and a real powered sub (150 watt with 8" driver). The receiver that comes with this is also the real deal and not a special model just for HTIB's. The sound quality from this is going to be well worth the extra money.

That Sony player is probably just fine, but you will soon be advised to hold out for a model with the Faroudja de-interlacing chip. If you can find one of the latter for $200-250, I'd strongly recommend it.