In layman's terms, can someone explain how to "fresh" install XP?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Rob Varto, Feb 7, 2002.

  1. Rob Varto

    Rob Varto Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2000
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've posted before about installing XP and the troubles I had. I have a full version of Win 98SE and the upgrade of Win XP Pro. I am going to order a new system in the near future but I don't want to pay for the OS.

    What is the best way for me to install Win XP? I was under the impression that I do not need to load Win 98SE to install XP? Is that correct?

    If I do need to install 98SE first, is there an option during the install of XP that allows for a "clean" install? If there is, I missed it the first time through.

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Rob Varto

    Rob Varto Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2000
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Buzz.

    Im assuming that I use the Win 98SE boot disk?

    Can you even create a Win XP boot disk?
     
  3. Rob Gillespie

    Rob Gillespie Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 1998
    Messages:
    3,632
    Likes Received:
    5
    If your system is capable of it, you should be able to boot directly from the XP CD. You can also do all your disk partitioning (if you need to) and formatting from the XP installation procedure. And if you want to use the NTFS file system rather than FAT32, you'll need to format here anyway.

    If you can't boot from the CD then you're fine to use your Win98 boot floppy. All you need is the ability to get into DOS and use the CD-ROM drive.
     
  4. Thom B

    Thom B Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 1999
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't forget the registration. If you're planning to use the same copy that you installed and activated on your current machine, activation on the new box will fail.

    T
     
  5. Kevin_Graham

    Kevin_Graham Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2001
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    My computer originally was installed with Windows 95 and came with the 95 cd's. The company who made my last upgrade bumped me up to 98 because they were having problems with the new hardware. They did not give me a copy of 98 however. Will I be able to do a clean install from XP or do I have to go back to 95?
     
  6. Todd Hochard

    Todd Hochard Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 1999
    Messages:
    2,312
    Likes Received:
    0
    The "Upgrade" versions of WinXP do not recognize Win95 as a valid original OS, if I recall correctly. You needed at least Win98. That's not because the upgrade disc is missing files for a complete install- it's merely because Microsoft wants it that way.

    Regarding the activation of XP, since you've installed it on one PC already, you'll have to remove it from that PC, then call Microsoft when directed by the new PC, to get a new activation code.

    Todd
     
  7. Kevin_Graham

    Kevin_Graham Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2001
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    If XP doesn't recognize 95 can I install the uprade version without 98?
     
  8. Thom B

    Thom B Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 1999
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope, you'll need the full version.

    T
     
  9. Kevin_Graham

    Kevin_Graham Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2001
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is the professional version of XP a full version?

    Edit: After some more research I found that XP professional is not necessarily a full version. There are upgrade and full versions of both XP home and XP professional.
     
  10. Craig LeBlanc

    Craig LeBlanc Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2000
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    The only 2 directories that are touched by installing windows are the Program Files (progra~1) and the windows directory itself.

    Usually what I do is just boot up with a win98 boot floppy with himem.sys and smartdrv on it. Run smartdrv, then deltree progra~1 and then the windows dir.

    Then I can just boot off the windows (whichever flavor you want) CD and install from there. That way I don't have to worry about backing up anything other than my favorites etc etc.

    Then again this method wouldn't work if you wanted to format the drive with NTFS.
     

Share This Page