What's new

In-ceiling full house speaker system, need assistance! (1 Viewer)

GodspeedFx

Auditioning
Real Name
Adam Carter
Ok, before I get into the meat of the subject, a little background. I'm a computer technician that works for a small company (I am the only technician currently) and the owner of the company just built a new house. I don't think the electrician that he hired to wire the house for speakers knew much about home theater systems (nor do I, although I have set up plenty of mounted/standalone 7.1 systems and I know enough to charge people to set them up).

He wants me to hook up all the speakers in the house as well as put in 3 volume control knobs (AudioSource AE100VC Impedance Matching Volume Control, already have them and I know how to install them) however here is where the first problem starts. For the 2 speakers on his deck, there is only 1 speaker input cable wired to the location of the volume control. I need one input for EACH SPEAKER but I'm not experienced enough to run another cable through the walls myself and he says that he doesn't want to have to do it either. Is there some sort of amplified splitter that I can get so I can turn that one input into two so I can power both speakers? Do I even NEED an amplified splitter or can I just split the wire and still power both speakers without damaging anything? That is my first question. The receiver outputs say 8-16 ohms.

Secondly, I need advice on what sort of source he needs for these speakers. He currently has an old sony receiver that supports 7 speakers (4 main, 3 surround as labelled, 8-16 ohms) and I suppose that I could change the settings so that each speaker gets the same volume level, but is such a receiver the best idea? Is there some sort of base system that he should use between t he receiver and speakers to ensure that each speaker receives the same volume level or is an actual 7.1 receiver the way to go?