What's new

Impressions of my new JVC 52" HD-ILA - Problems? (1 Viewer)

JamesOr

Agent
I bought the HD52Z585 model about 2 weeks ago for $2000 from Hhgregg. They had just dropped the price down from $2400 since they have the newer model now(which I think is $2600). It's a beautiful looking tv even when it's off with its all black frame. I'm not an expert so my observations will be fairly general. I do have a 57" Hitachi RPTV I bought 2 years ago that I can compare this with directly though. My main reason for posting is to get some feedback on some possible problems with this set so please read through this- problems are at the end of the post.

First off the High-def stuff. I have Time Warner cable HD and HD programming looks unbelievable. This is a very bright tv. The factory settings have everything zero'd out unlike the DLP's I've seen where contrast is at 100. I did pop the Avia disc in to try calibrating but honestly I hate that damn disc. Is the DVE disc easier to understand? I did my best and ended up turning the brightness and contrast down to around -14/-12 or so and the sharpness and color down a little less. It's fairly hard to make anything look bad on this screen so I don't feel too bad about my settings.

For dvd stuff I tried out Hellboy and Finding Nemo first. Finding Nemo looked flawless to my eyes. Hellboy was important to me because the biggest knock I heard about the D-ILA sets was the black level being less than even the new DLP's. It's definitely not as deep a black as my CRT but I still think it's deeper than the older DLP's. It doesn't bother me regardless.