Impedence differences?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by jaydee, Nov 7, 2002.

1. jaydee

jaydee Stunt Coordinator

What is the difference between 4,6 and 8 ohms nominal impedence?

2. Matt Odegard

Matt Odegard Stunt Coordinator

I'm no professor here but impedance is the ratio of pressure to flow. 8ohm impedance has high pressure therefor has less flow than 6ohm and less power. That is why many amps wattages levels go up as there impedance levels go down.

Example; a amp may be rated at 200wpc(watt per channel) at 8ohms but, 350wpc at 4ohm.

Basicly the lower the impedence the more flow for current there is, whether music or electrical. Hope that helps and is simple enough to understand.

3. jaydee

jaydee Stunt Coordinator

Thanks Matt!

I bought an Elite 45TX which recomends 8ohm speakers. However, I'm matching them with PSB Image 6T, 9C and 10S's which nominal impedance is 6 ohms. I've already reset the receiver for this, I was just wondering if I was losing anything by not going with the recomended 8ohm setup.

4. Matt Odegard

Yeah I'm asking the same question about that same reciever! Well not the same question but a similar one, like if the 45tx can handle 4ohm speakers since it is recommended that you use 8ohm. How do you like it? The 45tx that is.

5. jaydee

jaydee Stunt Coordinator

SVS sub arrives tomorrow and PSB's arrive early next week.

So far, I've determined I'll be reading the manual for a while getting it "dialed in". So, when my speakers arrive, I can plug and play. For the most part the system seems to be simple with the auto setup procedure....I'll let you know next week.

6. Frank Zimkas

Frank Zimkas Supporting Actor

Do some searching on this and other forums and you'll find that some Pioneer Elite 45/47tx owners are having shutdown problems due to low impedance (4ohm nominal) speakers.