I'm working on a student film, trying to construct a plane interior... help :-)

Discussion in 'After Hours Lounge (Off Topic)' started by Scott D S, Apr 3, 2004.

1. Scott D S

Scott D S Supporting Actor

Scott Saslow
    Hi all. I'm studying film at Full Sail in Winter Park, FL. We just started 16mm production class and the film I am working on is entitled Sanguinity. The lead character is a flight attendant and, as such, much of the film takes place on an airplane (a 747 or something similar).

Well, we need to construct the interior of the the cabin. First class, coach, it doesn't matter. We're only going to be able to build the first few rows anyway. I was wondering if anyone on the forum has any information as to where we could obtain spare parts (probably a futile endeavour in the post-9/11 world), pictures of decals and graphics (I'm going to make my own but it's nice to maintain a modicum of authenticity), etc.

Another group did something like this a few months ago but had to strike the set afterwards. I really want to knock the other groups' socks off with this. We're currently researching our options but I'd appreciate any info. [​IMG] Thanks.

2. Garrett Lundy

Garrett Lundy Producer

Go to your nearest "Automobile recyclers" (aka: Junkyard) and tell the guy at the desk:

"I have $20. give me two steering wheels and all the guages this will buy, they don't have to work"

You'll have enough "cockpit" parts to make 50 war films. [​IMG]

As for seats..I dunno, your on your own there.

3. Seth--L

Seth--L Screenwriter

Have you tried asking an airline if they'd let you shoot in a plane, or if they could aid you in coming up with a set (such as a grounded training plane)? Last semester a classmate of mine wanted to shoot most of his film in an airport run by USAir, and they let him (though he had to do the filmming at 1am). You'd be surprised what people will do for you when you're making a student film.

4. Jason_Els

Jason_Els Screenwriter