What's new

I'm very desapointed with the Akai PT4299HD... (1 Viewer)

Stefan_Stoev

Auditioning
I just bought this TV and I get that horrible red tint in areas that are supposed to be black. When the whole screen is black, I get those inch wide red tint vertical lines all over the screen. The whole picture is reddish in general. Another thing is I cant get it to display widescreen movies properly. Both DVD and TV are set to 16:9 and I still get the bars on top and bottom. Sometimes I think I see a thin black line across the screen but I'm not sure. I see it mainly when the sreen is white for a moment. I've messed witht the settings for hours and I can make it watchable but its still crappy. I have Magnavox MRD500VR DVD/VCR Home Theater System wich I got for Christmas and kept, because I dont care that my 3 years old is slowly destroing it. I also bought Component Cable from Radio Shack for $30 and used it to connect the DVD to the TV.

I'm a newb and I really need some help as I have 30 days to return the TV. Please give some advise on how to fix this.

Thanks in advance!

Allan Jayne

Senior HTF Member
Only movies whose aspect ratio is exactly 16:9 (or close to 16:9 if there is a lot of overscan) will fill the screen with no bars on top and bottom. Most movies are "wider" than 16:9. A wide screen TV will give you a better fit, although not a perfect fit, for wide screen movies.

The thin black line (all Sony direct view CRT's have it) could be part of the internal picture tube structure to keep the shadow mask (thin metal strips for the Sony) parts aligned.

RE: the red patches. There is a good chance your TV is severely misadjusted or defective and you should return it if you cannot get a free service call within a week or so. You should not go into service mode yourself as this could void the warranty and also bar you from returning the set.

Video hints:
http://members.aol.com/ajaynejr/video.htm

Jerome Grate

Senior HTF Member